Flagship_1500px_300 DPI CMYK.jpg

FLAGSHIP - The Electric Man (Bright Antenna)

Add Date: 03/07
Focus Track: 1, 3, & 2
FCC: Clean
Formats: Triple A

Artist Info: Flagship will release its second album The Electric Man on Bright Antenna Records on March 10. The new album was produced by Joey Waronker, known for his work as the drummer for Beck, REM, Brandon Flowers, Atoms for Peace, Walt Mink, and many others. The band also shares “Mexican Jackpot,” the first song off of Electric Man.

Flagship is singer/guitarist Drake Margolnick and drummer Michael Finster. It’s the Charlotte, NC duo’s honesty and rawness in their songwriting that drew Waronker to the band. He says, “They’re powerful and classic, fearless and unpretentious. I love when music affects me on a visceral level, when music draws me in and brings out an emotion, or an array of emotions, which is very difficult to describe.”

According to Drake, the song “Mexican Jackpot” “is about two people – the verses are about my imaginary dream girl that I’d like to hang out with, and the chorus is about someone I’m really pissed off at. I like the contrast between the verse and the chorus,” The song was written with frequent band collaborator Leo Solis.

Flagship released its debut EP, blackbush, on Bright Antenna in 2012 followed by a self-titled full-length in 2013, which was produced by Ben Allen (Animal Collective, Washed Out). “Life Underwater” from Flagship reached No. 17 on Sirius XM AltNation and the Love Thy Brother remix of the song hit No. 10 on Hype Machine Remix and No. 30 on Hype Machine. “Life Underwater” has also garnered nearly 2 million plays on Spotify and 200,000+ views on YouTube.