Hajk Album Cover.jpg

Hajk - Hajk (Jansen Plateproduksjon)

Add Date: 04/18
Focus Tracks: 2 & 9
FCC: Clean
Formats: College, Modern Rock Specialty, Triple A

Artist Info: Hajk’s self-titled debut album, released on Jansen Plateproduksjon, follows a pair of internationally successful singles, "Magazine" (premiered by Noisey in the US, Indieshuffle in the UK and Dagens Nyheter in Sweden) and “Best Friend” (added on all three national radio stations in Norway, premiered on Stereogum, & played on Danish radio). 

Considering that Hajk is such a new project, the band has been surprisingly quick to adjust themselves. Not long after entering the door to their rehearsal space, they played at Slottsfjellfestivalen, Øyafestivalen and by:Larm. Radio began adding the band’s music before the group had left the festival stage, and now they’re here—with a brand new record contract and a set of songs any band would be proud of. 

Hajk is fronted by Preben Sælid Andersen and Sigrid Aase, who share the vocals, while Johan Nord (drums), Knut Olav Buverud Sandvik (bass) and Einar Næss Haugeth (keys) complete the backbone of the band . Musically, Hajk is situated in a modern pop/rock landscape, with an emphasis on very strong melodies. The band is influenced by artists like Dirty Projectors, Unknown Mortal Orchestra and Amason, but still it stands firmly on its own feet, with an original sound that challenges genre conventions.