The Rongetz Foundation - ‘Alphabet City Music Club’ (Brooklyn Butterfly Sound)

Add Date: 10/23/2018
Focus Tracks: 3, 1, & 7
Format: College, Modern Rock Specialty, & Triple A

Artist Info: 10 years that The Rongetz Foundation is hanging around the five boroughs. Ten years of wonderful jazz tainted recordings [with: Gary Bartz, Gregory Porter, Corey Fonville, Ronnie Cuber to name a few] “stained” with the grit of soul and funk music that Rongetz (A.K.A Stephane Ronget) likes to bring to the table.

This album, Alphabet City Music Club, is a marvelous example of that stylish balance established in between raw and sophisticated feel. The place of the recording first, Alphabet City, a genuine inner city in Manhattan that was for long time defined like this: “Avenue A, you're Alright. Avenue B, you're Brave. Avenue C, you're  Crazy. Avenue D, you're  Dead”.

Then the two sessions that are part of the album:
One very much jazz funk oriented with:

  • Corey Fonville (Drums) [Christian Scott Quintet, Butcher Brown]

  • Corcoran Holt (Acc. Bass) [Kenny Garrett Quintet]

  • Mathis Picard (Keys)

  • Morgan Guerin (Tenor sax. / EWI)

  • Erena Terakubo (Alto sax. / Flute)   

The other one spreading soul music all around with:

  • Homer Steinweiss (Drums) [Sharon Jones, Amy Winehouse, Bruno Mars]

  • Jeremy Kay (Bass)

  • Kyle Koehler (Organ) [Lou Donaldson]

  • Morgan Guerin (Tenor Sax)     

The two sessions, ultimately coming together with the help of talented young vocalists:

  • Alina Engibaryan [Snarky Puppy]

  • Vuyo Sotashe

  • Vanisha Gould

  • Lewis Parker (Rap) [Ghostface Killah]

Mix all those elements in a rusty blender and you will enjoy the bootleg Bourbon, hard shake that is Alphabet City Music Club.